Work Packages (WP)

The Eat2BeNice project funded by the EU is professionally organized into 10 different work groups, called Work Packages (WP).  The following table is a brief description of how we are organized and what each work group is responsible for, from existing data research, to clinical trials, to dissemination of results, public policy implications, and ethics requirements and training.  We are staffed by highly experienced professionals, researchers, PhDs, MDs to bring this project to fruition by 2022.

Work Package Task
WP1 Exploiting existing epidemiologic data sets to generate new knowledge on the effect of nutrition on impulsive, compulsive and aggressive/antisocial behaviour (Leader: UMG / Catharina Hartman)
WP2 Nutritional interventions (Leader: KARAKTER / Nanda Rommelse)
WP3 Effects of physical activity and exercise in interaction with diet (Leader: GUF / Andreas Reif)
WP4 Public health aspects, policy recommendations, and dissemination (Leader: UiB / Jan Haavik)
WP5 Intestinal microbiota as a mechanistic link between nutrition/ lifestyle and impulsivity and compulsivity (Leader: RUMC / Alejandro Arias Vasquez)
WP6 Effects of nutrition, lifestyle, and microbiota on the brain (Leader: RUMC / Jan Buitelaar)
WP7 Epigenetic modification profiles for impulsivity and compulsivity (Leader: UKW / Klaus Peter Lesch)
WP8 Ethics and Training (Leader: RUMC / Barbara Franke)
WP9 Project management and implementation (Leader: RUMC / Alejandro Arias Vasquez)
WP10 Ethics requirements (Leader: RUMC / Barbara Franke)


The Eat2beNICE project is governed by the following consortium/decision-making bodies:


The Coordinator of Eat2beNICE is Alejandro Arias Vasquez, PhD (Departments of Psychiatry, Human Genetics & Cognitive Neuroscience), Radboud University Medical Center in Nijmegen, the Netherlands.

As the project coordinator he is the legal entity acting as the intermediary between the European Commission and the consortium as well as the supervisor of the overall progress of the project.

Dr. Alejandro Arias Vasquez

Phone: 31 24 3616722


Project Management Office (PMO)

The project management office is located both at concentris in Fürstenfeldbruck, Germany and with the Coordinator in Nijmegen, the Netherlands. While the Coordinator is mainly dealing with the scientific management, concentris together with the coordinator is taking care of the administrative, financial and contractual management and other organisational tasks.

The PMO is the central node of communication for Eat2beNICE and is responsible for the day-to-day management of the project. It acts as a help-desk for all beneficiaries and supports the Coordinator, the General Assembly and the Steering Committee in fulfilling their tasks and the execution of decisions.

The project manager at concentris for Eat2beNICE is Juliane Dittrich.

Juliane Dittrich

Phone: +49 8141 6252 8576


Steering Committee (SC)

The Steering Committee (SC) consists of all WP leaders and a representative at concentris and meets twice a year. It is the supervisory body where all technical details of the work are discussed. It is responsible for the successful implementation of the project regarding its schedule, budget and expected scientific quality. The SC is furthermore in charge of the preparation and execution of the decisions of the General Assembly.

General Assembly (GA)

The GA is the ultimate decision-making body of the Consortium and meets once a year. It consists of one representative of each partner and two of the coordinator with authority to vote, as well as a number of non-voting researchers and graduate students working for Eat2beNICE. The GA receives regularly status updates from all work packages, provides scientific and political directions and settles any dispute that might occur. It decides upon all issues involving changes to the content of the project, finances and intellectual property rights. It shall be in charge of making decisions of major and strategic relevance, either on its own initiative or as proposed by any of the partners or the Steering Committee.

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The SAB is a consultative body, which is formed to ensure and improve the scientific performance and the quality of results of Eat2beNICE. The members of the SAB will be invited to the annual GA meetings in order to monitor the progress of work, to assess the scientific quality and to give feed-back to the Consortium members. The SAB will also consider and mention any ethical issues which might require (stronger) attention in their feed-back. It has an independent advisory position that includes possible reporting of critical issues the EC, so that safeguarding of the project is ensured.

  1. Professor Ute Noethlings, Department of Nutrition and Food Science, University of Bonn, DE; expert for nutritional epidemiology.
  2. Professor John F. Cryan, Chair of the Department of Anatomy & Neuroscience, University College Cork, IRL; focused on understanding the interaction between brain, gut & microbiome and how it applies to stress and immune-related disorders, including irritable bowel syndrome, obesity, and neurodevelopmental disorders such as autism.
  3. Professor Stephan Zipfel, Head of the Competence Centre for Eating Disorders Tuebingen (KOMET) and Chair of the Department of Psychosomatic Medicine at the University of Tuebingen, DE, expert in eating disorders and obesity.

Data and Safety Monitoring Committee (DSMC)

The DSMC will meet once a year and advise the Steering Committee and the Coordinator/WP leader of the clinical trial on any critical issue.

Three renowned experts have agreed to be part of the DSMC:

  1. Chair: Professor Roser Granero, Professor of Statistics and Methodology, Department of Psychobiology and Methodology, School of Psychology, University Autonoma Barcelona.
  2. Maria Soler Artigas, Psychiatric Genetics Unit, Group of Psychiatry, Mental Health and Addiction Vall d’Hebron Research Institute (VHIR).
  3. Dr. Helen Klip, epidemiologist and director of research at Karakter.

Our 18 European Partners

Learn more about our 18 European Partners – Click

Academisch Ziekenhuis Groningen (UMCG)
ADD Information Services (ADDISS)
Centro De Investigacion Biomedica En Red (CIBER)
Concentris Research Management
Fundacio Hospital Universitari Vall D’Hebron, Institut De Recerca
Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Universitat Frankfurt Am Main (GUF)
Karlsruher Institut Fur Technologie (KIT)
Orebro University (ORU)
Radboud University Medical Center (RUMC)
Semmelweis Egyetem (SU)
Stichting Buro ECNP (ECNP)
Stichting Karakter (KAR)
Tartu Ulikool (UT)
Universitat De Barcelona (UB)
Universitatsklinikum Wurzburg, Klinikum Der Bayerischen (UW)
Universitet I Bergen (UiB)
Wageningen University (WU)
Zentralinstitut Fur Seelische Gesundheit (CIMH)